Our 2019 Prize-giving


Chris Brandolino(NIWA) (BSc Meteorology), Professor Dianne Brunton, Head of the School of Natural and Computational Sciences, Massey University, Dr. Debbie Jordan, Chemistry senior tutor, Massey University, Michael Holderness, (BSc, BE, MEngNZ), Technical Services Manager, 3M New Zealand

Judy Peace (Sponsor) Benjamin Rann, Education Specialist, Canon Business Solutions, Jillian Haslam, DP, Northcross Intermediate School and Colin MacDonald, Chief Judge, North Harbour Science and Technology Fair

The North Harbour science and technology fair….

The organisation is a registered charity and was established to promote good science, technology investigation and research for our school students on Auckland’s North Shore.

Each year we provide a platform for students from our schools where their investigations and research can be evaluated and judged.

Prizes and medals are awarded to the winning entries in each of various categories on offer.

Information for judges

The role of a science fair judge is challenging and at the same time rewarding.

As a judge you are given the unique opportunity not only to meet our budding young scientists but to also have a positive impact on the scientific lives of some of our very talented young people. Our judges come from schools, universities, industry, commerce and other institutions and we value the time and effort they give in support of us and our community.

Not only are our judges an ambassador for their respective professions but we hope they may well influence career choices of the students.

Committee members


Julie Prince

BEd (Teaching), HDT

Glenfield Intermediate School

Mike Wade


Northcote Intermediate School

Mike Wade

BA, BEd(Hons), MEdPsych(Hons), NTSD, HDipEd(SP), FDipEd(EdMan), FDipEd(YP), GradDip TESSOL

Northcote Intermediate School [email protected]
Chief Judge    

Colin McDonald

BSc(Zoology, Botany), MSc(Botany)

Committee members    

Aaron Harrison


Birkdale Intermediate School

Bev Pantry

BSc, HDipEd(PG)

Carmel College

Gareth Kruyen

BSc, GDipTchng

Murrays Bay Intermediate School

Helen Haine

BAppSc(FoodTech), GDipTchng

Massey University/Albany Junior High School
Jill Haslam Northcross Intermediate

Martene Matthews

BSc Hons, PGCE

Albany Junior High School